Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Annual Membership Meeting

May 16 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

May 16 from 7–8:35 p.m. in the Auditorium; the Annual Meeting will also be live streamed and recorded for viewing on the Ethical Society’s YouTube channel.

The Nominating Committee has finalized its selections and nominates to the Board: Matthew Hile for the president track position; Mary Ann Perkins for the trustee position; and Rachel Jones for Board secretary. Additionally, Sean O’Hara submitted a petition to be on the ballot for the trustee position, so there will be a competitive election between Mary Ann and Sean. See biographies below.

Brief Note from the Board of Trustees: The Board of Trustees appreciates the hard work and detailed vetting process the Nominating Committee used to determine their proposed candidates for the open Board positions. As a Board, we enthusiastically and unanimously support the candidates proposed by the Nominating Committee: Matthew Hile (president track), Mary Ann Perkins (trustee), and Rachel Jones (secretary). In addition, we extend our gratitude to the Nominating Committee for their efforts on behalf of the Society.

Matthew Hile retired as a research associate professor emeritus from UMSL’s Missouri Institute of Mental Health. He and Allison Hile have been members since 1982. Over the years, he has served on the Ethical Education Committee (member and chair), Program Council (member and chair), Board (trustee), Personnel Committee (member), eSociety Committee (founder, member, and chair), the Leader Search Committee (chair), and the Governance Task Force (chair) which wrote our current governance structure. In 2004, he created and continues to host our Platform podcasts (currently 680+ episodes).

He is a graduate of the AEU Lay Leadership Summer School and served as a staff instructor for the Summer School for 10 years (five summer sessions). In 2016, he was honored as a recipient of the AEU’s Anna Garlin Spencer Volunteer Award for outstanding long-term volunteer contributions to the Ethical Society of St. Louis.

Outside of the Society he is a long-time member of the St. Louis Childrens’ Hospital Ethics Committee and recently served on the Webster Groves Charter Review Advisory Board. A passionate chef, bread baker, and kitchen garden farmer, he loves sci-fi, bike riding, and having lunch with friends.

Mary Ann Perkins grew up in St. Louis County as one of six children in a devout fifth-generation Mormon family. She married in the faith, and then lived overseas–in Germany, Lebanon, and Thailand–for most of the next two decades. During that time, she had two children, left the Mormon church, completed two master’s degrees, became a United Nations editor and got divorced.

After returning to the St. Louis area, she became a member of the Ethical Society and restarted the Religious Transition Peer-Support Group that meets in the Hanke Room every Monday at 7 p.m. She currently serves as the treasurer of her HOA Board and previously served as the secretary of the PTA at her children’s school.

Mary Ann loves the arts, distance running, and open-mic standup comedy, even if everyone bombs.

Rachel Jones, a St. Louis native, has been a member of the Ethical Society since December of 2016. She works part time as an administrative assistant at The Bach Society of Saint Louis, a non-profit choral/orchestral performing arts organization, and she is also a professional choral singer. Previous board experience includes service in roles of treasurer of a parent cooperative in Germany and her HOA, secretary of Missouri Choral Artists, and representative in the Young Friends Council of the Missouri Botanical Garden.

In addition to singing with her friends, Rachel enjoys hiking, reading sci-fi, going out, and knitting. You can spot her in the Becker Room on Sunday mornings with her husband, member Michael Jones, wrangling their three children: Eliza, Calvin and Axel Jones. Rachel greatly values the learning and relationships that have come out of her various lay leadership roles at the Society and looks forward to her second year as secretary of the Board of Trustees, if approved.

Petition Nominee for Non-Officer Position

Did you know? The Society’s bylaws allow additional nominations to the Board by written petition signed by at least ten active members. If the nominee-by-petition is running to be an officer, the position must be specified. All such written petitions must be filed at the Society office at least 21 days prior to the Annual Membership Meeting which will be held Thursday, May 16, 2024.

Sean O’Hara has petitioned to serve on the Board of Trustees in a non-officer role. In accordance with the bylaws’ nominee-by-petition requirement, Sean has collected the required member signatures and
humbly requests fellow members vote their approval at the annual membership meeting.

Sean has been a member for seven years serving on the Platform Team, Membership Team, and Humanist Hangouts. He plays in The Ethical Society Band, served as Platform host, and participates in various discussion groups. He desires to uphold the integrity of Humanist values and help the Society grow into the future.

Sean would greatly appreciate the support of members on May 16.


May 16
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Event Category:


9001 Clayton Road
St. Louis, MO 63117
+ Google Map