Anna Garlin Spencer Awards

The American Ethical Union (AEU) Anna Garlin Spencer Volunteer Award recognizes a lay member of any AEU Member Organization in good standing for their significant volunteer contributions to the success of their organization and/or to the AEU. The AEU Board presents the award on behalf of the AEU and the nominating congregation.

St. Louis member awardees

  • 2022 Cathy and Bob Pickard
  • 2020 David Brown
  • 2019 Kent and Jo-Ellen Forrest
  • 2018 Steve Harris
  • 2017 Carol Bartell (Andy Stanton NoVES)
  • 2016 Matthew Hile
  • 2015 Alan Easton
  • 2014 Alan Ranford
  • 2013 (Mary Ellen Stanton NoVES)
  • 2012 Dean and Juliette Smith
  • 2011 Julia Lamborn
Anna Garlin Spencer image

The American Ethical Union (AEU) and its Member Organizations function in large part on the volunteer time and monetary commitment of their members.  Many times, members work “behind the scenes” on programs and events, often providing supplies and materials at their own expense.  These members have ideas and proposals that not only make their congregation a success, but which could also benefit other Societies or AEU programs.

Born in 1851, Anna Garlin Spencer was a social activist and feminist icon.  She was the first woman ordained in Rhode Island, became a founder of the NAACP, promoted child labor laws, and worked for equal rights for women.  She was also the first woman Ethical Culture leader and her life-long work embodies the spirit intended by this award.